Childcare

If you would like to open your own Child Care Facility, Family Home Child Care, view training schedules, fees or basic information on training requirements, including the mandated early literacy training, please review: www.myflorida.com/childcare.

or call the Childcare Training Information Center at 1-888-352-2842.

REGISTRATION DEADLINE:

SPECIAL NOTE: Registration deadline for all Child Development courses is the Tuesday prior to the Saturday class start date. In addition, if you are not registered in DCF by that Tuesday at noon, you will be dropped from the course and will not be permitted to attend the course.

Registration is only complete if the entire fee for a course is provided at the time of registration. Fees: All courses are $55 each and include the book.

After registering with SF College, students must also register at the DCF website prior to attending class. Go to www.myflorida.com/childcare. If you have any questions on the DCF website/registration, call 1-888-352-2842.

Click here for registration information

Click here to print a certificate

STATE OF FLORIDA MANDATED CHILD CARE TRAINING

Facility: The basic State of Florida requirement for working in a childcare center is:

40 Hours of training which consists of the following:
CHD0200 Childcare Facilities State & Local Rules & Regulations (6 hrs)
CHD0325 Behavioral Observation and Screening (6 hrs)
CHD0300 Child Growth and Development (6 hrs)
CHD0250 Health, Safety and Nutrition (8 hrs)
CHD0275 Identifying and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (4 hrs)

And a choice of 10 hours from:
CHD0410 Special Needs Appropriate Practices (10 hrs)
CHD510 Preschool Appropriate Practices (10 hrs)
CHD610 Infant and Toddler Appropriate Practices (10 hrs)
CHD710 School Age Appropriate Practices (10 hrs)

or a combination of two courses found online at myflorida.com/childcare/training.

Family:
The basic State of Florida requirement for having a family child care in your home is:

30 Hours of training which consists of the following:
CHD0225 Family Child Care Home State & Local Rules & Regulations(6 hrs)
CHD0325 Behavioral Observation and Screening (6 hrs)
CHD0300 Child Growth and Development (6 hrs)
CHD0250 Health, Safety and Nutrition (8 hrs)
CHD0275 Identifying and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (4 hrs)

Please note Florida statute 402.305 states:
The minimum standards shall require that at least one staff person trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, as evidenced by current documentation of course completion, must be present at all times that children are present.

Register for CPR0400 to complete this requirement.

Family Child Care Home State & Local Rules & Regulations $55

This course is designed to give family child care home providers an overview of the state and local rules and regulations that govern the child care industry.

CHD0225.C01
Sat., May 30, 9 am—3:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Behavioral Observation and Screening $55

This course will introduce care givers to the principles and techniques used to identify children who may benefit from early interventions.

CHD0325.C02
Sat., Jun. 6, 9 am—3:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Health, Safety & Nutrition $55

This course is designed to assist child care professionals identify the key principles of a healthy and safe child care environment as well as provide a basic understanding of child nutrition.

CHD0250.C01
Sat., Jun. 13, 9 am—3:30 pm
Sat., Jun. 20, 9 am—11 am
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Identifying and Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect $55

This course provides child care providers with an overview of the various types of abuse and neglect, the legal responsibility of mandatory reports, and the proper procedure for reporting abuse and neglect.

CHD0275.B01
Sat., Jun. 20, 11:30 am—3:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Child Care Facilities State and Local Rules & Regulations $55

This course is designed to give child care facility providers an overview of the state and local rules and regulations that govern the child care industry.

CHD0200.B01
Sat., Jun. 27, 9 am—3:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Infant/Toddler Appropriate Practices Course $55

This course is designed for personnel working in licensed childcare facilities and working with infants and toddlers.

CHD0610.B01
Sat., Jul. 11, 9 am—2:30 pm
Sat., Jul. 18, 9 am—2:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Child Growth and Development $55

This course is intended to provide child care professionals with a basic understanding of the theories and principles of child growth and development, including the influences on child development, developmental characteristics, and the role of play in learning.

CHD0300.B01
Sat., Jul. 25, 9 am—3:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

DCF Special Needs Course for Child Care Directors/Specialty Module $55

This course teaches the knowledge and skills to caregivers to ensure all children and families have the educational support they need and are in compliance with federal and state laws.

CHD0410.B01
Sat., Aug. 8 & 15, 9 am—2:30 pm
SF-NW Campus, Rm. L-204

Students are required to arrive 10 minutes early for check-in. Students WILL NOT be admitted once class begins!

Please contact Continuing Education at least two weeks prior to the first training date at (352) 395-5896 between the hours of 9 am and 4 pm, Monday through Friday, if you require a special accommodation because of a disability in order to participate in a course.